J.J. Abrams the next ‘Star Wars’ director

J.J. Abrams in a chair

In spite of everyone’s spastic reactions to the news that J.J. Abrams might be directing the next Star Wars film, the world continued to turn this morning. Frankly, I’m a little surprised by the news though. I don’t want to get into a Star Trek versus Star Wars argument because they aren’t remotely similar to one another so why can’t you just like both? (Many people do.) With that said, I’m a little surprised that they would go with him only because I don’t remember much time travel in the Star Wars movies. I haven’t read any of the books, though, so I can’t confirm that the whole franchise is free of it. Time travel is really J.J.’s thing. He’s done it well in Fringe, and I guess the latest Star Trek movie isn’t the worst thing that could have happened to that franchise. So, let’s try to be positive about this.

J.J. Abrams Nearing Deal to Direct Next ‘Star Wars’ – The Hollywood Reporter.

3 comments

  1. Some quotes from an interview with Abrams in The Guardian:

    “Star Trek always felt like a silly, campy thing. I remember appreciating it, but feeling like I didn’t get it. I felt it didn’t give me a way in. There was a captain, there was this first officer, they were talking a lot about adventures and not having them as much as I would’ve liked. Maybe I wasn’t smart enough”
    “I had no idea there had been 10 movies! I still haven’t seen them all. I didn’t want to become a student of Star Trek.
    “I was trying to make a movie, not trying to make a Trek movie.”

    What an ass.

    But then, Star Wars is more space opera than sci-fi, the ideas are both bigger and simpler. So maybe he wouldn’t fuck it up as much.

    1. Bigger and simpler is fair, as I’ve always thought of Star Wars as the heavy-set retarded 9 year old sister to Star Trek’s first-born son, which of course is a complex personality type. Lot’s of layers.

      Also, Jabba the Hutt. Also, Jar Jar Binks. Also, do children even like Star Trek? Isn’t one of these for children?

And your thoughts?

