Bryan Singer Confirms ‘X-Men: Days Of Future Past’ Timeline

Well I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited about this. As an X-men lover since the fifth grade, and avid watcher of the animated series of the 90s (Have you re-watched it on Netflix recently? Do you yourself the favor!) I can say I still remember being that kid in middle school who was always wondering the first movie. Could it be true? Eight years after they’d brought my childhood love, Dinosaurs, back to life in Jurassic Park, Hollywood was finally giving me my adolescent fantasy.

It was especially titillating for me because I was a closeted conservative Christian high school kid trying to hide my sexuality from anyone who was clueless enough not to see through the facade. Although I was pretending to be in love with Famke Janssen (a pretty good cover, since she is hot) I actually dreamed of being Magneto. Upon crushing my foes – all the jocks I wasn’t as strong as, all the rich kids I wasn’t as smart as (yes, that was the distinct correlation at my suburban high school), all the peer pressure from the do-nothings to smoke pot in someone’s car, or drink a beer up on the hill, or go to some house party and ‘do X’ – I’d hightail it for Asteroid M and not hurt another soul. I didn’t have a crush on any of the male characters – just a burning desire to be like them. To be different, but still be masculine. To hear the criticism, but know that it didn’t matter because I really was superior to them. The first movie gave me all of that.

Then, the franchise culminated in a woebegone third movie, the finale, the one fans had been waiting for a long time: Phoenix Saga. In fact, I was so disappointed that I didn’t even go see X-Men: First Class because I figured it would just be a big flop, geared toward young children – like the latest Spiderman movie. Honestly, I was also worried I might lose hold of my previous childhood memories. However, now that we’re getting into time travel and the well-wrought dystopian future of the X-Men comic universe, it’s time I returned to the franchise. My only question is, why isn’t J.J. Abrams directing this one?

Bryan Singer Confirms ‘X-Men: Days Of Future Past’ Timeline And Hints At Correcting Franchise Continuity Issues.

And your thoughts?

