Do Sci-fi Films Lack New Ideas?

It’s science fiction Saturday, so I’m posting this. It’s an interesting idea, one worthy of discussion. I’ll admit that I totally see where they’re coming in asking this question. When I see the media fanfare over Elysium (meh) and Gravity (well-deserved, though not for it’s sci fi elements), while at the same time a total silence for movies like Oblivion (yes, I liked it) and Europa Report (decent for the budget) – I can’t help but wonder what the future holds. On top of that, we have so many wonderful books that have yet to be made into films! I think the future for science fiction is bright, as long as imaginary thinking isn’t outlawed.

BBC News – Science fiction films ‘lack new ideas’.

One comment

  1. I really agree with your conclusion. There are a lot of great stories out there waiting to be turned into films. Perhaps the film industry needs to start looking in different places.

And your thoughts?

