Mysterious Plumes on Mars Baffle Scientists, Are Probably Haboobs

I say it’s a dust storm, or a “haboob.” If any of you have read Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson, the dust storms are a semi-important deus ex machina near the end. I had no idea that Mars could produce such a thing (p.s. I’m being cheeky, I don’t think it can without terraforming, right?) but I’m surprised no one has made this reference.

‘Extremely Unexpected’: Mysterious Plumes on Mars Baffle Scientists – NBC News.com.

And your thoughts?

